HAMMOND, IN – Now marking its 14th year in 2018,The South Shore Wall of Legends opens nominations to honor a new “class” of legends along the South Shore at the South Shore Convention & Visitors Authority. Legends are individuals or teams whose accomplishments “resonate in and beyond Northwest Indiana.” Nominations opened on Wednesday, Aug. 1 and will close on TuesdaySept. 4, 2018. The Wall of Legends Project is sponsored by BP Whiting Business Unit.


“BP has been the enduring sponsor of the South Shore Legends since 2004,“ said Thomas P. Keilman, Director, Government & Public Affairs, BP.  “The BP Whiting Business Unit takes pride in celebrating legendary people who have brought great distinction to our region and state.”


Legends are those individuals who have lived or worked in the 7 counties of Northwest Indiana and have had a substantial impact with “lasting implications.”  They may now live outside of Northwest Indiana. These individuals were “trailblazers” and are “exemplars” whose record of personal conduct serves as an example for others. The 7 counties of Northwest Indiana are Jasper, Lake, La Porte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, and Starke Counties. Consultant on the Legends Project is Stephen McShane, Calumet Regional Archives, Indiana University Northwest.


Typically, South Shore Legends have made their contributions in past years, in contrast to modern day innovators, said John Davies, founder and coordinator. Davies said Legends may or may not be living. They may no longer live in Northwest Indiana, but their actions still resonate in and beyond our 7-county region. Inducted last year as Legends were the late Dean V. White and Quentin P. Smith, the 69th and 70th Legends.  Other Legends include the Tuskegee Airmen of Northwest Indiana; Jean Shepherd; stage and screen star Karl Malden; Boxing great Tony Zale; Vivian Carter, Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients; Nobel Prize recipients; Apollo 8 Commander Frank Borman; Dr. William Scholl; and Indiana’s 20th Civil War Regiment. This project is hosted by Speros Batistatos and the South Shore Convention & Visitors Authority. New Legends will be inducted on Thursday, Dec. 12th at 5:30 p.m. at the Indiana Welcome Center.


Nominators must complete their nominations and submit them by 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 4th to the South Shore CVA, 7770 Corinne Drive, Hammond. Multiple individuals engaged in the same activity can be nominated in one nomination. To obtain a nomination form, contact John Davies at john.davies1214@gmail.com or at 219 789-1214.