Thirty inspirational Lake County residents have been contacted by the State of Indiana, notifying them of their nominations to become Torch Bearers in celebration of Indiana's Bicentennial.

The Torch Relay is patterned after the Olympic Torch Relay and Indiana's Torch will pass through all 92 counties over a five-week period. Thirty torch bearers have been chosen for Lake County and will travel through Whiting and Hobart on Sunday, October 9 and Crown Point on Tuesday, October 11. Lake County's torch route can be viewed at and details about celebrations along the route will be announced at a later date.

A specialized Mobile Visitors Center will also accompany the torch on its journey. The relay will culminate in Indianapolis on the Statehouse Grounds, with a special welcome ceremony and celebration. It starts on September 9, 2016 and ends October 15, 2016 on its 2,300 mile journey.

Lake County's torch bearers are as follows:

Drake Abramson, Lake Station
Beverly Bonnema-Ream, Schererville
Bob Carnahan, Cedar Lake
Sherri Eberle, Hobart
Madison Fanta, St. John
Timothy Fealy, Crown Point
John Friend, Munster
Drew Furuness, Schererville
Mary Goolik, Highland
Daniel Govert, Griffith
Jade Green, Hammond
Michael Griffin, Highland
Richard Hatcher, Gary
Tom Keilman, Crown Point
Sister Barbara Kuper, East Chicago
Joseph Kwasny, Highland
Eric Lakomek, St. John
Bishop Dale Melczek , Merrillville
Chiedu Nchekwube, Merrillville
David Nowaczyk, Dyer (posthumous)
Paul Palmer, Lowell
James Pavelka, Hobart
Cavin Porter, Hammond
Sister Kathleen Quinn, East Chicago
John Scully, Hobart (posthumous)
Mayor Brian Snedecor, Hobart
Mayor Joe Stahura, Whiting
Mayor David Uran, Crown Point
Matthew Valuckis, Hobart
Martha Wheeler, Crown Point