Indiana's Torch Relay, in celebration of the State's Bicentennial, continues in Crown Point on Oct. 11 at 8:30 a.m. with a kick-off event at the Lake County Government Complex.

Commissioner Gerry Scheub will read a proclamation and the Lake County Pipe and Drums will perform during the event. Mayor David Uran will light the torch and begin the Torch Relay at 9:00 a.m. The torch will be carried by the following individuals through Crown Point before ending at 10:30 a.m.:

Mayor David Uran (Crown Point)
Beverly Bonnema-Ream (Crown Point)
Bob Carnahan (Crown Point)
Madison Fanta (Crown Point)
Eric Lakomek (Crown Point)
Marty Wheeler (Crown Point)
Drew Furuness (Crown Point)
Tim Fealy (Crown Point)
Mary Goolik (Crown Point)
Paul Palmer (Crown Point to Jasper County)

The relay begins at the Lake County Government Complex, heads south on Main Street and continues around the square. The torch then moves to Joliet Street before ending on U.S. 231 and moving into Jasper County.

The Torch Relay is the premier event of Indiana's Bicentennial designed to inspire and unify Hoosiers by symbolically "pass the torch" connecting generations to ignite our future. The Torch Relay kicked off on Sept. 9 and will end on the Statehouse Grounds on Oct. 15 in Indianapolis.

Learn more and see the official Lake County Torch Relay map/route at Names marked with a * are representing a Torch Bearer who has passed away. Torch Bearer order and locations are subject to change without notice. All times are CST.