In 1845, English immigrant George Earle constructed a dam on Deep River to power sawmills and gristmills. Four years later, he named the settlement Hobart for his brother, Frederick Hobart Earle, who remained in England. The millpond that resulted from the dam became known as Lake George.
Hobart has expanded tremendously since those early days. The city offers visitors a wide variety of fun activities and exciting experiences. Lake George in downtown Hobart is a popular destination for fishing, boating and just strolling along the lakefront. The lake is home to the annual Clocktower Model Boat Race in September and Lakefront Festival in August.
Deep River County Park is a beautiful, serene park which encompasses more than 1,200 acres. This park features Wood's Historic Grist Mill, which was built in 1838 by John Wood and rebuilt in 1876 by his son, Nathan. The park also offers a visitor center, trails, hayrides and a playground. It is home to the Deep River Grinders, who play vintage baseball under 1858 rules and attire.
Hobart has many wonderful restaurants to savor, from Mexican to Italian to pub food. Housed in an 1895 Victorian cottage, 54 Main Bistro is a farm-to-fork venue, offering the freshest ingredients and a new menu weekly.
Shoppers will be thrilled with the variety of stores and eateries at Hobart's Southlake Mall, the South Shore’s largest shopping mall.
For visitors with a sweet tooth, a stop at Albanese Candy Factory is a must. Home of the "World’s Best Gummies," Albanese offers factory tours and more than 1,000 different candies. In the fall, County Line Orchard offers visitors the opportunity to pick their own apples, explore the corn maze or feast on some of their famous donuts.
For an out-of-the-ordinary summertime experience, take a tour at Broken Wagon Bison and bring home some lean, healthy bison meat.
If you would like more information about Hobart, please contact:
City of Hobart
414 Main Street
Hobart, IN 46342
Hobart Chamber of Commerce
1001 Lillian Street
Hobart, IN 46342