Brook, so named because of two creeks that flowed to the south of the settlement, was platted and organized in 1856 by S.H. Benjamin. The town experienced tremendous growth during the latter half of the 19th century and in 1888, the railroad came through town.
George Ade - American humorist, writer, newspaper columnist and playwright - built Hazelden Farm, an English Manor/Tudor-style estate, near Brook. This impressive home, known as the amusement center for the United States, hosted a 1908 campaign stop by William Howard Taft, a 1912 rally for Theodore Roosevelt's Bull Moose Party and a 1919 homecoming for American soldiers and sailors.
The beautiful estate is now home to Hazelden Country Club, which is open to the public seven days a week. The historic golf course is more than a century old and is near the scenic Iroquois River. The par 70, 18-hole course is challenging for proficient golfers, yet gentle enough for beginners.
Lake Kenoyer is a popular fishing hole for the locals; for a small fee, annual fishing permits can be purchased in town. The Iroquois Conservation Club hosts a fishing rodeo there every summer and serves breakfast on Sundays in the cabin by the lake. Outdoor enthusiasts can also enjoy Brook's McKinley Park and Brunton Athletic Field.
Visitors can dine on delicious one-pound pork chops, succulent prime rib or all-you-can-eat catfish and perch at Earl's Dining and Catering located in downtown Brook. This family-friendly restaurant provides a cozy atmosphere and monster portions.